Every three years, at each edition of the World Water Forum, the King Hassan II Great World Water Prize is delivered during a special ceremony. The Prize has been handed out to four previous laureates, for their excellence and distinguished achievements in the fields of cooperation and management of water resources.



    2015 – 7th World Water Forum, Daegu & Gyeongbuk 

    Maman Abdou, Entrepreneur social Tech Innov (Niger)

    Social entrepreneur Abdou Maman develops and enables the implementation of an integrated and innovative solution for remote irrigation operations. Thanks to a holistic approach, Mr. Maman supports farmer communities in accessing technology and finance and contributes to reducing poverty in rural populations.

    Read more


    2012 – 6th World Water Forum, Marseille

    The Sahara and Sahel Observatory (SSO)

    SSO is an independent international organization based in Tunis. It was founded in 1992 to improve early warning and monitoring systems for agriculture. 

    Read more


    2009 – 5th World Water Forum, Istanbul

    Abdulatif Youssef Al-Hamad 

    CEO of the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, Mr. Al-Hamad was honored for his outstanding contributions to advancing cooperation and solidarity in the fields of development and management of water resources. 

    Read more


    2006 – 4th World Water Forum, Mexico

    Torkil Jønch Clausen 

    At the time he was Development Director and Deputy CEO of DHI Water and Environment, in Denmark, Mr. Clausen was honored for his outstanding contributions to advancing Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) on a global scale. 

    Read more


    2003 – 3th World Water Forum, Kyoto 

    Mahmoud ABU-ZEID 

    Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation of Egypt


    Jerson KELMAN 

    President Director of Agencia Nacional de Aguas (ANA) of Brazil

    Both were honored for their significant water-related achievements and their contributions to the improvement of water resources management.

    Read more