Kyoto World Water Grand Prize

    Kyoto Prize EN


    In 2024, the 7th award ceremony of the Kyoto World Water Grand Prize is scheduled to take place at the 10th World Water Forum in Indonesia (Bali). In preparation for the ceremony, the Japan Water Forum has started accepting applications from June 1, 2023. The application guidelines are provided below. We would greatly appreciate it if you could share this information with relevant institutions and organizations in your vicinity.


    Application Form is available here

    Established by the city of Kyoto during the 3rd World Water Forum in 2003 and awarded every three years since then, the Kyoto World Water Grand Prize, jointly organized by the Japan Water Forum and the World Water Council, rewards grass-roots organizations that bring concrete solutions to water-related issues in developing countries.

    This prestigious prize aims to find and develop outstanding grass-roots activities related to water issues around the world. These activities may include projects, awareness-raising campaigns and promotion of participatory process on water-related issues such as water supply and sanitation, water-related diseases, irrigation, drainage, dams, river and lake basins, wetlands, groundwater, poverty, gender and/or ethnic equity, capacity building, community participation, poverty reduction and more. 



    Pragati Koraput, winner of the 6th edition

    For its 6th edition, Pragati Koraput, which helps farmers in the semi-arid region of Odisha in Eastern India, was selected this year.

    The organization, which uses solar energy to pump water and irrigate crops, is being awarded for its initiative to solve a water issue while limiting its environmental impact.

    The winner, officially awarded at the closing ceremony of the 9th World Water Forum in Dakar in March, received JPY 2,000,000 (about USD 18,000).


    The Kyoto World Water Grand Prize laureates

    - 2006 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 4th World Water Forum in Mexico City, Mexico: Gram Vikas (India)

    - 2009 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 5th World Water Forum in Istanbul, Turkey: Watershed Organization Trust (India)

    - 2012 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 6th World Water Forum in Marseille, France: Katosi Women Development Trust (Uganda)

    - 2015 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 7th World Water Forum in Deagu, Korea: Environment and Public Health Organization (Nepal)

    - 2018 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 8th World Water Forum in Brasilia, Brazil: Charité Chrétienne pour Personnes en Détresse (Togo)

    - 2022 Prize Winner - Awarded at the 9th World Water Forum in Japan: Pragati (India)


    More informations about the Kyoto World Water Grand Prize

    More informations about the winner 2022