King Hassan II Great World Water Prize

Governance & Jury

Prize Committee

The Prize Committee is comprised of seven members and special advisors from the Kingdom of Morocco and the World Water Council. It is responsible for the overall planning, management and promotion of the Prize. 

Prize Jury 

The Prize Jury is in charge of the evaluation of the nomination proposals, in accordance with the rules, and screened according to the criteria of the Prize Committee. It is composed of international and Moroccan figures that are knowledgeable about the world of water, and also selects the Prize winner.

For the 5th edition of the Prize, the Jury is composed of the following members

Charafat Afailal El Yedri
Présidente du Jury
Minister Delegate to the Minister of Energy, Mines, Water and Environment in charge of water

Omar Assobhei
President of Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah University of Fès

Abdelkader Benomar
Director for Water Research and Planning

Torkil Jønch Clausen
Water Policy Adviser, DHI

Jun-Haeng Heo
Vice-President of the Korea Water Resources Association (KWRA)
Republic of Korea

Abdeladim Lhafi
High Commissioner for Water and Forests and Fight against Desertification

Adame Nombre
President of the International Commission on Large Dams (ICOLD)
Burkina Faso

Monica Porto
President of the Foundation for Hydraulic Technology, Polytechnic School of University of Sao Paulo (USP)

Houria Tazi Sadeq
President of the Water Association for Machreq Maghreb (ALMAE)


The Secretariat of the Prize is located at the headquarters of the World Water Council. It comprises Council staff and is managed by the Administrative Director and the Prize Coordinator.

Prize Brochure




World Water Council
Secretariat of the King Hassan II Great World Water Prize
Espace Gaymard
2-4 place d'Arvieux
13002 Marseille
Phone: +33 4 91 99 41 00